Tags

, , ,

I thought I’m not the most romantic person in the world, but then I went to La Singular with my Soul Man and realized that I do have a big romantic streak in me. And in La Singular even the food is romantic.

On a little street in Gracia called Francisco Giner there are a few very nice restaurants, and one of them is La Singular. I have yet to go to Paris, but this restaurant makes me feel as if I was there.


The place is tiny with only 10-12 tables, the walls are painted red, there are shelves around the room with tea candles, bottles of wine and fresh flowers. In the back of the restaurant  there is a little fountain and some plants and it all makes the atmosphere really romantic. The tables are quite close to each other which is a small downside, but usually nobody is disturbingly loud.

To start with we had a very nice salad with goats cheese and tomato marmalade, this is unfortunately the only decent photo I have of all the food we had:

For a main course we had pork loin in a delicious creamy sauce and a hamburger with mango. There are many very good main courses to choose from, I adore the deer with forest fruit sauce, just to give an example.

The dessert was fantastic, for the first time ever I had rose petal ice cream, and it was one to remember. I was all lyrical while eating it, it must be the most romantic dessert there is. Together with lychees it was a match made in heaven. The house red was also excellent I have to add.

Do remember to book because even on a Monday the place is full, and the last time we visited there was a former Barca player, so be on the lookout for famous people!

(Restaurant La Singular, Francisco Giner 50, 08012 Barcelona)

