Tags

, , , , ,

 I’ve been living a few years now in Barcelona, and I’ve been reflecting on how I have changed and how the country has left its mark on me. Here are a few things I’ve noticed:

– I almost never cook Finnish style anymore. Firstly because there are so many ingredients that can’t be found in the supermarkets here. Secondly because Finnish cuisine is very heavy on milk and cream, and my stomach isn’t very appreciative of it anymore. And that is very surprising, because in Finland I used to drink milk with every meal (that’s what you do in Finland)….

– I no longer get offended if anybody pushes me and doesn’t apologize in public transport. I’ve been thinking about it and I don’t think that people are rude or impolite when they don’t apologize, it’s just that it’s not seen as being something worth to pay any attention to. If I accidentally push someone nobody cares.

– I’ve learned to be a little tougher. You need to be tough when dealing with Spanish bureaucracy. You need to question and question and question and be pushy and sure that you are given the right answer and call over and over again. Nowadays I go in to offices with a little bit of attitude, and it takes me a little further.

– I’ve realized that tax officers and other public office workers are not only rude towards me as a foreigner. My Soul Man often accompanies me to these exciting places and although he has a lifetime of experience with rudeness the officials are not friendly to him either. His papers get lost too, or he is wrongly debited. It makes me feel a little bit better.

– I no longer expect it to snow. Previous winters I always had a hope that it would snow. Then it did, and it was not a very pleasurable experience at all, everything stopped working. So now I hope it will never snow again, ever.

– I am no longer waiting for summer to come in February. When I arrived in September 2007 I was told by everyone (probably foreigners, I no longer remember) that the winter is short, starts in December and that the warm weather would return again in February. I was waiting February, March, April and May, and no warm weather, just lots of rain. In the end of June I finally took my first dip in the sea.

– I might actually consider buying a cagatio. The Catalan Christmas traditions are very interesting. Families here buy a log with the face of an elf or something else, and the children are told that during Christmas night the log (the cagatio) poops out the Christmas presents. Very fascinating. Now I have accepted my faith and can even see myself buying one this Christmas.

– I will participate in the National Lottery. Every Christmas there is a huge lottery, and everyone takes part. And I mean EVERYONE. This year I will have a ticket too.

– I’ve started to plan the Barcelona-Madrid football game (El Clasico) months in advance. Where, how and when. It’s one of the big events every year and you have to plan it well in advance.

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Jag har bott några år i Barcelona nu, och jag har funderat på hur jag har förändrats och hur Spanien har lämnat spår i hur jag tänker och gör. Här är några saker jag noterat:

– Jag lagar nästan aldrig finsk mat längre. Det är tråkigt, men oundvikligt. Det finns många ingredienser som jag inte kan få tag i här. Dessutom är finsk mat ofta laktosbetonat och min mage klarar inte längre det så bra, trots att jag drack mjölk till varje måltid när jag bodde i Finland.

– Jag blir inte upprörd längre när någon skuffar till mig i bussen, metron eller på gatan. Om jag råkar skuffa till nån bryr sig ingen, och därför ber ingen om ursäkt för det heller.

– Jag har lärt mig att bli lite tuffare. Man måste vara tuff när man har att göra med spansk byråkrati, så är det bara. Man måste ifrågasätta allt, och vara påstridig och säker på att man får rätt svar, man måste orka ringa och ringa och påminna och fråga. Nuförtiden går jag in med lite attityd och jag har märkt att det fungerar ganska bra.

– Jag har också insett att dom som jobbar på till exempel skatteverket och andra dylika instanser inte bara är otrevliga mot mig som utlänning. Ibland följer min Soul Man med mig till till dessa trevliga ställen och han som har livslång erfarenhet möts av samma attityd som jag. Hans papper försvinner också i maskineriet eller något debiteras fel. Det får mig att känna mig litegrann bättre till mods.

 – Jag hoppas inte längre att det ska snöa. Varje vinter har jag hoppats på snö. Sen fick vi snö en dag, och det var inte alls trevligt, allt slutade att fungera. Så nu hoppas jag att det aldrig nånsin snöar igen.

– Jag förväntar mig inte att sommaren ska börja i februari. När jag anlände hösten 2007 sa alla (antagligen alla utlänningar) att vintern kommer i december och i februari blir det varmt igen. Jag väntade ut februari, mars, april och maj, och det blev aldrig varmt, bara regnigt. I slutet av juni simmade jag för första gången.

– Jag överväger för första gången att köpa en cagatio. Den katalanska jultraditionen är lite annorlunda. Man köper en liten stockbit med ett tomteansikte, som kallas cagatio och under julnatten… hur ska jag säga det här på ett fint sätt, nej det går nog inte….. sk*ter cagation ut alla julklappar. Det är väl fint?  

– Jag kommer att köpa en lott för jullotteriet. Varje år vid jul går det årliga jullotteriet av stapeln, och ALLA deltar. Så även jag detta år.

– Jag har börjat planera Barcelona-Madrid matchen länge på förhand. Månader på förhand. Det är ett av årets stora händelser och man bör planera noggrannt.

